Saved

When I lose myself
Adrift in bygone oceans,
Your love tows me home.

2 comments on “Saved

  1. Arthur says:

    I love this series. Taken as a whole, it says a lot about the relative “safety” and security that comes with our relationships and plays on the nuances of the word, from the passivity of just be “safe” in someone’s arms, to being a path (tunnel) to safety, and to being an active tow line to rescue us from other emotions/places/thoughts. Nicely done.

  2. Thank you for engaging with me and sharing your thoughts, Arthur. That’s exactly the perspective I was envisioning. I thought about reversing the order of the poems to progress from active through to passive as you have stated, and that would have worked too. I decided to take a different angle, from the perspective of two people connecting deeply in a relationship; from a more corporeal or stabilizing safety which builds initial trust, and then develops a path of sanctuary…into a world of emotional, intellectual and spiritual caring and safety. This progression encompassed, for me, a progressive intimacy and trust.

Leave a Reply

