Mothers in Sync

This poem was written by my mother. She shared it with me this weekend after I shared my blog with her. I didn’t know that she liked to write, or that she could express herself so beautifully in poetry. Of course, I know she’s a brilliant woman, but had no idea we had this in common.

This poem was written shortly after I was born. I am wholly touched by the depth of emotion encompassed in this work, and so appreciative that she shared it with me. Especially now, being a mother too, I can grasp what she was feeling in the moments she wrote this piece. I love you mom!

Blood – we share.
Your beauty astounding, as you take your first breath. I chasing mine.
As I acknowledge your existence, mind racing, love-fear-joy- strangling me.
Raw, exposed, reality overwhelming.
You touched my heart and soul, beyond words.
Mind filled with fear, fear of responsibility for another being, of making mistakes.
Heart filled with pride-love.
Soul, to share with another.

One comment on “Mothers in Sync

Leave a Reply

